The Higher School Certificate is the highest educational award in New South Wales schools. It is awarded to students who have satisfactorily completed Years 11 and 12 at secondary school. To be eligible, students must meet HSC course requirements and sit for the statewide HSC examinations. The HSC is an internationally recognised credential that provides a strong foundation for students wishing to pursue tertiary qualifications, vocational training or employment.

To gain an HSC, students must have completed a minimum of 12 units of Preliminary courses and 10 units of HSC courses. All courses in the HSC have a unit value. Most courses are 2 units. Students must satisfactorily complete the Preliminary course (usually studied during Year 11) before they are eligible to commence the corresponding HSC course (usually studied during Year 12). English is the only compulsory subject for the HSC.

Further details regarding HSC eligibility requirements are available in the booklet "Studying for the NSW HSC".

Students and parents can obtain specific information relating to the HSC from these links

How your HSC works

HSC Syllabuses

2018 HSC Examination Timetable (to be provided once the timetable has been released)

HSC Assessments and Submitted Works – Advice to Students

HSC Assessments and Submitted Works – Advice to Parents

HSC All My Own Work

HSC Results

Past Examinations

The Assessment Certification Examination (ACE) website provides up-to-date information on the Board of Studies NSW policies on the HSC.